Monday 30 November 2015


Cain: A stepbrother Romance

Collette French

Ava is a B list celebrity who lives in Hollywood she aspires to make it on her own. Her father is a movie producer and her mother was a beautiful actress. She is used to the busy life style with following paparazzi. Her father thinks she is in need of a body guard to keep her safe and has already found the perfect muscle. 

Cain is her new step-brother and although Ava’s father remarried a while ago she has been avoiding meeting the new family. Late for an important date Ava bumps into a sexy obnoxious hunk spilling hot coffee all over him. He may be beautiful but his personality is unforgiving. Little does Ava know that this man is her stepbrother, Cain. 
Ex-navy seal, Cain is now working with a small team of men as a task force of body guards. He has taken on a job from this new step-dad to protect his only daughter. She doesn’t realise the danger she is in and Cain is determined to keep her safe. As the story unfolds there attraction grows stronger and temptation is difficult to resist.

I rate this book 3.5 stars out of 5. It is a nice easy read. Cain doesn’t usually date his clients and this is the angle of taboo in this book rather than the step-sibling relationship. It is action packed and has a creative approach however I feel it could have been longer/more descriptive in places. 

Overall I would recommend it as a bedtime read. 

Expected publication: December 1st 2015
Free for Kindle Unlimited or 99p. Bargain!

 *An advanced copy of this book was given to me in exchange for an honest review*

Sunday 29 November 2015

Redneck Debutante

Redneck Debutante Series

Jenny Hammerle 

Rachel is a 15 year old girl who lives in Florida. She enjoys the lifestyle a rich city girl is accustomed to, with sunbathing and shopping at the top of her priorities. Just as the summer is beginning to come to a close she is landed with the news that she will be moving to the country. She will be leaving behind her best friends and her boyfriend in exchange for country ranch life. 

This series of books is about a girl who’s growing into the women she will become. As the series progresses we see her adjust to country living and the challenges of teenage life. She sees the mistakes people make and how she can avoid falling into the same pit falls. I don’t want to say too much and give away any of the plot but I will say these books were an enjoyable read. The thing that I liked the most was sometimes books feel like they have sneaked an extra book in there that doesn’t really go anywhere. I feel this is not the case in this series. It’s fun and sweet. Rachel has a life nothing like my own and it is nice to see how she develops over the story. This series is far from over and I look forward to continuing the journey.

I would recommend these stories as a teen read probably around the 16 year old mark. Great if you are stuck for that perfect unique Christmas gift. I rate this series of books a strong 4.5 stars out of 5.

The series so far 3 books can be bought on Amazon for £5.07 or are available individually or even paperback form. 

Book 1: 224 pages and was published December 5th 2013
Book 2: 206 pages and was published December 23rd 2013
Book 3: 250 pages and was published February 5th 2015 

*A copy of these book were given to me via the Author/Publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Friday 27 November 2015

Hawk's Property

Hawk's Property (Insurgents MC #1) 

Cara is talked into taking her best friend Sherrie to a biker bar where she has a crush on the bar tender. Cara is a good girl from a respectable family. She is work orientated and sworn off men after her cheating ex.
Hawk is a foul mouthed, dirty minded biker bad boy. He is a member of a Motorcycle club and is set in his ways. He see’s women as toys for his pleasure and nothing more. His focus is on his club, brothers and his business.    
Cara is the first lady to ever say no to him and he is shocked by the concept. He is cocky and arrogant enough to know she wants him. He doesn’t work for bed warmers but there is something about Cara he just can’t get off his mind.   

The thing I love about this book is it has two elements. It has the strong alpha male romance but also it is a murder mystery. That’s my two favourite kinds of books in one. I would say this book isn’t for everyone. Hawk is very disrespectful of women but I think in this case it works. He isn’t used to playing by other peoples rules and Cara is a strong independent woman. He is about to be knocked down a peg or two. I loved this book it is a dark romance not for the faint hearted. 5 stars out of 5.
This book is the first in the series of books however can be read as a standalone novel.

Kindle Edition, 303 pages. Free for kindle unlimited users or 99p.
Published October 26th 2015

Sunday 22 November 2015



(The Boy with Words, #1) 

I am becoming quite the little fan of C.E. Wilson this is the second book of hers I have read and I have to say I’m hooked.

This is the first book in the series however it gives enough to be a standalone novel.  The other book I have read is To Nowhere. Both are equally good. 
Five Seven Five is a fantasy novel about a 17 year old girl called White. She lives in a sheltered community with little knowledge of the outside world. To venture out into the unknown you have to be chosen. White’s cousin Shade is one of the lucky chosen one’s and he is all she has. They have a tight relationship and Shade brings White notes from the outside world. The words are only a few sentences however there meanings are strange. White is very curious of the world and can’t wait to grow up and hopefully be selected to explore. I don’t like to give spoilers so I won’t but C.E Wilsons books have a common theme and the world she creates is almost believable. I would recommend her books to anyone who is looking for something unique with themes other than romance.